Three Dartmouth Players Named to 2011 NEIBA All-Star Teams

Although Indian baseball did not reach its goal of achieving a three-peat Ivy-League Championship (losing to Princeton in the finals), there was a bit of consolation in the post-season awards that came pouring in.

In addition to the 10 Indian players who were garnered All-Ivy honors (the most out of any other school in the Ivy League) a couple weeks ago, The NEIBA, or the New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association, has named three Dartmouth student-athletes to its All-Star Team. Sophomores Ennis Coble (utility) and Chris O’Dowd (catcher) were chosen for the University Division First Team, and junior Joe Sclafani (shortstop) was selected for the Second Team.

In addition to Ennis, Chris, and Joe, three other Dartmouth players will be playing in the All-Star game as substitutes to other honorees who could not make it. They are, from the Dartmouthsports website: “…junior right-hander Kyle Hendricks, senior second baseman Jeff Onstott and senior reliever Ryan Smith.”

The quantity of post-season honors and the relative youth of the recipients bodes very well for the future. Let’s go Indians!

Note: The 37th Annual NEIBA All-Star Game on Thursday, June 2 at 7 p.m. at LeLacheur Park in Lowell, Mass.


From left to right: Ennis Coble, Chris O’ Dowd, Joe Scalafani. Photo Credit:

–Ke Ding