Time for Another Trustee Election

The Alumni Council has nominated the official slate of Trustee candidates to replace the retiring Nancy Jeton ’76. The election will be held in the spring.

Dartmouth Alumni Council Announces Trustee Candidate Slate

In June 2007, Nancy Jeton ’76 will retire from her seat on the Dartmouth College Board of Trustees. Following an extensive review process and in accordance with the Association of Alumni constitution, the Dartmouth Alumni Council has ratified a slate of three candidates to fill this alumni trustee vacancy. They include:

Richard L. “Sandy” Alderson ’69
Sandy Alderson is CEO of the San Diego Padres, a National League team of Major League Baseball. Alderson is a former marine and Vietnam veteran. He was affiliated with the Oakland A’s for 17 years as general counsel, general manager, and president. He came to the Padres in 2005, after serving as executive vice president of baseball operations for Major League Baseball. Alderson is a member of the advisory board for the UC Berkeley Haas School of Business, a trustee of the California Historical Society, and former chair of the board of directors of Interplast, an organization providing reconstructive surgery for children in developing countries.

Sherri Carroll Oberg ’82, ’86Tu
Sherri Oberg is cofounder, president, and CEO of Acusphere, Inc., a biotechnology company based in Watertown, Massachusetts. A finalist for the 2006 Ernst & Young New England Entrepreneur of the Year Award, she was also named by Mass High Tech: The Journal of New England Technology one of its 2005 All Stars in the biotech sector. Oberg is a former director of the Massachusetts Biotechnology Council. She has been a member of the Tuck School of Business Board of Overseers since 1995, served on the advisory board for the Tuck Center for Private Equity and Entrepreneurship, and chaired the Tuck Task Force on Women in Business. She is a frequent guest lecturer at Tuck on entrepreneurship, strategy, technology, and private equity.

John S. Wolf ’70
Ambassador John Wolf is president of the Eisenhower Fellowships, a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization working with emerging world leaders. He served in the Department of State, joining the Foreign Service in 1970. He was ambassador to Malaysia and to Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation in the 1990s; presidential envoy for Caspian energy negotiations; and assistant secretary for nonproliferation and chief of the U.S. coordinating and monitoring mission for the Middle East peace process. Wolf was a Mid-career Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University. He won the Secretary of State’s Award for Distinguished Service in 2004, the President’s Meritorious Service Award in 1992 and 2000, and the Asia-Pacific Council of American Chambers of Commerce Award for Distinguished Service in 1996.

Trustee balloting will take place from April 1-May 15, 2007. Petition trustee candidate nominations will be accepted until February 2, 2007.

For additional information please visit www.voxthevote.org or contact the Office of Alumni Relations at (603) 646-3929.