Appointees to the “Super Committee” Revealed

Senators Jon Kyl, Rob Portman ’79, and Pat Toomey, and Representatives Dave Camp, Fred Upton and Jeb Hensarling have been appointed by top Republicans in the House and Senate as part of the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction. All oppose tax increases, while one supports eliminating tax breaks like the subsidies for ethanol.  On the Democratic side, Representatives James E. Clyburn, Xavier Becerra, and Chris Van Hollen, and Senators Patty Murray, John Kerry, and Max Baucus have been chosen.  By November 23rd, The Super Committee must find a way to cut $1.5 trillion from federal budget deficits over the next ten years.  The rest of Congress is not allowed to make amendments; President Obama can only approve or veto the bill without changes.  If the bill is vetoed, or not submitted on time, there will be automatic cuts to entitlement programs and defense spending.

Melanie Wilcox