The Dartmouth Review was founded in 1980 in the living room of Dartmouth English professor (and National Review Senior Editor) Jeffrey Hart by four discontented campus conservatives: Greg Fossedal, Keeney Jones, Gordon Haff, and Benjamin Hart. It has stirred controversy ever since, but always with a purpose: to question stale academic orthodoxy and to preserve Dartmouth College’s unique liberal arts character. Twenty years ago, the president of the college staged a campus “Rally Against Hate” to protest our newspaper. Today, the former president of Dartmouth, Jim Yong Kim, says that “some of the best writing on campus” comes from The Dartmouth Review. The Review’s writers and editors have gone on to become some of American conservatism’s most prominent voices, including Dinesh D’Souza, Laura Ingraham, The New Criterion‘s James Panero, Pulitzer Prize winner Joseph Rago of the Wall Street Journal, and former editor of the Far Eastern Economic Review Hugo Restall, among others.

Today, we aim to provide useful and enlightening long-form journalism that is relevant to the Dartmouth community at large. Our print edition is published biweekly.